2022 General Election Candidates


Primary Election Candidate Summary

The Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA) Board of Trustees (BOT) is made up of nine elected officials who serve four-year terms. Five of the seats represent specific islands: Kauaʻi/Niʻihau; Oʻahu; Maui; Molokaʻi/Lānaʻi; and Hawaiʻi Island. Four of the seats are “At-Large.” 

This election year, six of the nine seats were up for election: Oʻahu, Maui, Hawaiʻi Island and three of the “At-Large” seats. Maui Island trustee and current BOT Chair Carmen “Hulu” Lindsey and Oʻahu Island Trustee Kalei Akaka have both won their seats and will not appear on the General Election ballot. 

Two candidates are presently running for the Hawaiʻi Island seat: incumbent Mililani Trask and challenger Hope A. Cermelj. Both candidates advance to the general election ballot. 

Eleven candidates competed for the three available “At-Large” seats in the primary election including incumbents Leinaʻala Ahu Isa and John Waiheʻe, IV. The top six candidates (listed to the right in alphabetical order) will appear on the general election ballot: Leinaʻala Ahu Isa, Brickwood Galuteria, Sam K. King, Chad Owens, Keoni Souza, and John D. Waiheʻe, IV.

OHA Trustee – Hawaiʻi Island Candidates

OHA Trustee – At-Large Candidates

Read a full summary of the OHA Trustee Primary Election.

Gubernatorial Candidates

For information on mail-in ballots, voter service centers, and more visit: www.oha.org/vote